Intel ISEF 2011 | Student Science

Support Strong Science

Be a champion now for the

next generation of science leaders.

Intel ISEF 2011

Intel ISEF 2011 was held May 8th-13th at the Los Angeles Convention Center in downtown Los Angeles, California.

Top Winners from 2011

Gordon E. Moore Award Winners of $75,000 

Matthew Troy Feddersen, 17, of Lafayette, California, United States
Blake Marggraff , 18, of Lafayette, California, United States  
Treatment of Simulated Cancer Cells with Compton Scattering-Produced Secondary Radiation

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards - $50,000 each

Pornwasu Pongtheerawan, 16, Suratpittaya, Maung, Suratthani, Thailand
Tanpitcha Phongchaipaiboon, 17, Suratpittaya School, Meung district, Suratthani, Thailand
Arada Sungkanit, 17, Suratpittaya School, Meung district, Suratthani, Thailand
Bio-Based Packaging Plastics from Fish Scale

Taylor Ramon Wilson, 17, of Reno, Nevada
Countering Nuclear Terrorism: Novel Active and Passive Techniques for Detecting Nuclear Threats

In 2011, more than 1,500 young scientists were chosen to compete in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. They were selected from 443 affiliate fairs in 65 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the winners mentioned above, more than 400 finalists received awards and prizes for their groundbreaking work. Awards included 17 "Best of Category" winners who each received a $5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a $1,000 grant to each winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. The following lists the 17 Best of Category winners from which the top three were chosen:

Animal SciencesAdrienne McCollSan PedroCalifornia
Behavioral and Social SciencesAndrew KimAthensGeorgia
BiochemistryDianna HuDix HillsNew York
Cellular and molecular BiologyNithin TummaFort GratiotMichigan
ChemistryRaghavendra RamachanderanChennaiIndia
Computer ScienceLai XueChengduChina
Earth and Planetary SciencesJane CoxProvoUtah
Engineering: Electrical and Mechanical

Demitri Hopkins
Forrest Betton
Eric Thomas



Engineering: Materials and BioengineeringSamantha MarquezMidlothianVirginia
Energy and TransportationNathan KondamuriDyerIndiana
Environmental Management

Pornwasu Pongtheerawan
Tanpitcha Phongchaipaiboon
Arada Sungkanit

Environmental SciencesJinyoung Seo
Dongju Shin
Go-Yang City
South Korea
Mathematical SciencesMatthew BauerleFentonMichigan
Medicine and HealthMatthew Feddersen
Blake Marggraff
MicrobiologyErica PortnoyDix HillsNew York
Physics and AstronomyTaylor WilsonRenoNevada
Plant SciencesKira PowellOdessaWashington


Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2011 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2011 Photo Album on  Flickr

To search and view abstracts from the past five years of Intel ISEF, please visit our Project Database

2011 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2011; please contact us with information.

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News for Students


Eureka! Lab