Intel ISEF 2012 | Student Science

Support Strong Science

Be a champion now for the

next generation of science leaders.

Intel ISEF 2012

Intel ISEF 2012 was held May 13th-17th at the Pittsburgh Convention Center in downtown Pittsburgh Pennsylvania.

Top Winners from 2012

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000 

Jack Thomas Andraka, 15, of Glen Burnie, Maryland, United States  
A Novel Paper Sensor for the Detection of Pancreatic Cancer

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards - $50,000 each

Nicholas Benjamin Schiefer, 17, of Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Apodora: Markov Chain-Inspired Microsearch

Ari Misha Dyckovsky, 18, of Sterling, Virginia, United States
Analysis of Photon-Mediated Entanglement between Distinguishable Matter Qubits

In 2012, more than 1,500 young scientists were chosen to compete in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. They were selected from 446 affiliate fairs in approximately 70 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the winners mentioned above, more than 400 finalists received awards and prizes for their groundbreaking work. Awards included 17 "Best of Category" winners who each received a $5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a $1,000 grant to each winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. The following lists the 17 Best of Category winners from which the top three were chosen:

Animal SciencesLucy HritzoHollandPennsylvania
Behavioral and Social SciencesBenjamin KornickRosalyn HeightsNew York
BiochemistryRebecca AlfordCommackNew York
Cellular and molecular BiologyRaghav TripathiPortlandOregon
ChemistryRaghavendra RamachanderanBengaluruIndia
Computer ScienceNicholas SchieferPickering, OntarioCanada
Earth and Planetary SciencesMofeed SawanLondon, OntarioCanada
Engineering: Electrical and MechanicalAssiya KussainovaKaraganda, KaragandyKazakhstan
Engineering: Materials and BioengineeringRyota IshizukaCos CobConnecticut
Energy and TransportationShyamal BuchFolsomCalifornia
Environmental ManagementAdam NobleLakefield, OntarioCanada
Environmental SciencesNaomi ShahPortlandOregon
Mathematical SciencesAishwarya VardhanaBeavertonOregon
Medicine and HealthJack AndrakaCrownsvilleMaryland
MicrobiologyFelix AngelovSkokieIllinois
Physics and AstronomyAri DyckovskyLeesburgVirginia
Plant SciencesHuihui FanStaten IslandNew York


Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2012 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2012 Photo Albums on Facebook and Flickr

To search and view abstracts from the past five years of Intel ISEF, please visit our Project Database

2012 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2012; please contact us with information.

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News for Students


Eureka! Lab