Intel ISEF 2013 | Student Science

Support Strong Science

Be a champion now for the

next generation of science leaders.

Intel ISEF 2013

Intel ISEF 2013 was held May 13th-17th at the Phoenix Convention Center in downtown Phoenix, Arizona.

Top Winners from 2013

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000 

Ionut Budistineau, 19, of Ramnicu Valcea, Romania  
Using Artificial Intelligence to Create a Low Cost Self-Driving Car

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards - $50,000 each

Eesha Khare, 18, of Saratoga, California
Design and Synthesis of Hydrogenated TiO2-Polyaniline Nanorods for Flexible High-Preformance Supercapacitors

Henry Lin, 17, of Shreveport, Louisiana
Cool Core Bias In Sunyaev-Zel'Dovich Galaxy Cluster Surveys

In 2013, approximately 1,600 young scientists were chosen to compete in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. They were selected from 433 affiliate fairs in more than 70 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the winners mentioned above, more than 500 finalists received awards and prizes for their innovative research. Awards included 17 "Best of Category" winners who each received a $5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a $1,000 grant to each winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. The following lists the 17 Best of Category winners from which the top three were chosen:

Animal SciencesMichael ShaoNorthvilleMichigan
Behavioral and Social SciencesZarin RahmanBrookingsSouth Dakota
BiochemistrySavannah TobinSalemOregon
Cellular and molecular BiologyHannah WastykPalmyraPennsylvania
ChemistryEesha KhareSaratogaCalifornia
Computer ScienceIonut Budistineau RamnicuValceaRomania
Earth and Planetary SciencesGyou Tanaka MobaraChibaJapan
Engineering: Electrical and MechanicalZeyu LiuCalgary, AlbertaCanada
Engineering: Materials and BioengineeringSamantha MarquezMidlothianVirginia
Energy and TransportationEvie SobczakSt. PeterburgFlorida
Environmental ManagementShixuan LiLynn HavenFlorida
Environmental SciencesNaomi ShahPortlandOregon
Mathematical SciencesVinay IyengarPortlandOregon
Medicine and HealthJessie MacAlpineWoodstock, OntarioCanada
MicrobiologyDavid ZimmermanLos AngelesCalifornia
Physics and AstronomyHenry LinShreveportLouisiana
Plant SciencesSamantha DiSalvoHewlettNew York


Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2013 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2013 Photo Albums on Facebook and Flickr

To search and view abstracts from the past five years of Intel ISEF, please visit our Project Database

2013 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2013; please contact us with information.

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News for Students


Eureka! Lab