Intel ISEF 2014 | Student Science

Support Strong Science

Be a champion now for the

next generation of science leaders.

Intel ISEF 2014

Intel ISEF 2014 was held May 11th-16th at the Los Angeles Convention Center in downtown Los Angeles, California.

Top Winners from 2014

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000 

Nathan Han, 15, of Boston, MA, United States 
Characteristics of Deleterious Mutations in Tumor Suppressor Genes

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards - $50,000 each

Lennart Kleinwort, 15, of Wurzburg, Germany
Dynamic Mathematics on Smartphones and Tablets

Shannon Winjing Lee, 17, of Singapore, Singapore
Nature Derived Carbon Microsheets as Efficient Electrocatalyst for Energy Storage

The 2014 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair featured more than 1,700 young scientists selected from 435 affiliate fairs in more than 70 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the top winners, more than 500 finalists received awards and prizes for their innovative research, including 17 "Best of Category" winners, who each received a US$5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a US$1,000 grant to each winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. Additionally, the Intel Foundation presented a select number of students with experiential awards, including the new 11-day trip to China to attend the country’s largest national science competition, speak with researchers at Intel’s lab in Shanghai, and visit the Panda Research Base in Chengdu.

Animal Sciences

Daksh Dua
Abhishek Verma

Behavioral and Social SciencesMichelle MarquezMidlothianVirginia
BiochemistryKen AizawaJerichoNew York
Cellular and molecular BiologyJoshua MeierHackensackNew Jersey
ChemistryTai Hei Chan
Er Hai Fang
Hong KongChina
Computer ScienceYue YaoShanghaiChina
Earth and Planetary SciencesYu-Hsin ChenTaipeiChinese Taipei
Engineering: Electrical and MechanicalSarah GalvinTempeArizona
Engineering: Materials and BioengineeringHarry PaulPort WashingtonNew York
Energy and TransportationShannon LeeSingaporeSingapore
Environmental ManagementFaye JongKuchingMalaysia
Environmental SciencesPerry AlagappanHoustonTexas
Mathematical SciencesLennart KleinwortWurzburgGermany
Medicine and HealthNathan HanBostonMassachusetts
MicrobiologyLogan CollinsBoulderColorado
Physics and AstronomyJohn CaddellPebble BeachCalifornia
Plant SciencesYi-Hsuan HuangTaipeiChinese Taipei


Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2014 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2014 Photo Albums on Facebook and Flickr

To search and view abstracts from the past five years of Intel ISEF, please visit our Project Database

2014 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2014; please contact us with information.

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News for Students


Eureka! Lab