Intel ISEF 2016 | Student Science

Support Strong Science

Be a champion now for the

next generation of science leaders.

Intel ISEF 2016

Intel ISEF 2016 was held May 8th-13th at the Phoenix Convention Center in downtown Phoenix, Arizona.

Top Winners from 2016

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000 

Han Jie (Austin) Wang, 18, of Vancouver, Canada 
Boosting MFC Biocatalyst Performance: A Novel Gene Identification and Consortia Engineering Approach

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards - $50,000 each

Syamantak Payra, 15, of Friendswood, Texas, United States
Brace Yourself: A Novel Electronically Aided Leg Orthosis

Kathy Liu, 17, of Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Nature-Based Solid Polymer Electrolytes for Improved Safety, Sustainability, and Efficiency in High-Performance Rechargeable Batteries

Intel ISEF 2016 Highlights Video

The 2016 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair featured approximately 1,750 young scientists selected from 419 affiliate fairs in more than 75 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the top winners, approximately 600 finalists received awards and prizes for their innovative research, including 20 "Best of Category" winners, who each received a US$5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a US$1,000 grant to each "Best of Category" winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. 

Animal SciencesRiver GraceMelbourneFL
Behavioral and Social SciencesRajeev JhaHonoluluHI
BiochemistryEdward KimWacoTX
Biomedical and Health SciencesJiwoo LeeHackensackNJ
Biomedical EngineeringLuiz da Silva BorgesAquidauanaBrazil
Cellular and Molecular BiologyMarissa SumathipalaAshburnVA

Kathryn Lawrence
Katherine Younglove

Computational Biology and BioinformaticsSwetha RevanurSan JoseCA
Earth and Environmental SciencesNatalie BushBaton RougeLA
Embedded SystemsSyamantak PayraFriendswoodTX
Energy: ChemicalKathy LiuSalt Lake CityUT
Energy: PhysicalTiasha JoardarPlanoTX
Engineering MechanicsTakahiro IchigeChiba-CityJapan
Environmental EngineeringWyatt PontiusSterlingVA
Materials ScienceNicky WojtaniaPlanoTX
MathematicsPei-Hsuan ChangTaipei CityChinese Taipei
MicrobiologyHan Jie (Austin) WangVancouverCanada
Physics and AstronomyCamille YokeRichmondVA
Plant SciencesDennis DrewnikWinnipegCanada
Robotics and Intelligent MachinesSimone BraunsteinNew YorkNY
Systems SoftwareCharles NoyesVilla ParkCA
Translational Medical Science

Brennan Clark
Prashant Godishala

Golden ValleyMN



Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2016 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2016 Photo Albums on Facebook and Flickr

2016 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2016; please contact us with information.

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News for Students


Eureka! Lab