Intel ISEF 2017 | Student Science

Support Strong Science

Be a champion now for the

next generation of science leaders.

Intel ISEF 2017

Intel ISEF 2017 was held May 14th-19th at the Los Angeles Convention Center in downtown Los Angeles, California.

Top Winners from 2017

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000 

Ivo Zell, 18, of Hessen, Germany 
A Wing Is Enough: An Improved Flying Wing Based on a Bell-Shaped Lift Distribution

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards - $50,000 each

Valerio Pagliarino, 17, of Castelnuovo Calcea, Italy
LaserWAN - Laser Broadband Internet Connections

Amber Yang, 18, of Windermere, Florida, United States
Multi-Orbit Space Debris Cloud Tracking Using Iterative Closest Points Registration with Machine Learning

Intel ISEF 2017 Highlights Video

The 2017 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair featured nearly 1,800 young scientists selected from 425 affiliate fairs in more than 78 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the top winners, approximately 600 finalists received awards and prizes for their innovative research, including 20 "Best of Category" winners, who each received a US$5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a US$1,000 grant to each "Best of Category" winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. 

Animal SciencesJessica YoungWellingtonFlorida
Behavioral and Social SciencesErin SmithLenexaKansas
BiochemistryKarina MovsesianKarlovy VaryCzech Republic
Biomedical and Health SciencesDaniel ZhangSan DiegoCalifornia
Biomedical EngineeringClara WagnerSaginawMichigan
Cellular and Molecular BiologyDavey HuangHonoluluHawaii
ChemistryKyle FridbergBoulderColorado
Computational Biology and BioinformaticsPrathik NaiduPotomac FallsVirginia
Earth and Environmental SciencesAdam NayakPortlandOregon
Embedded SystemsValerio PagliarinoCastelnuovo CalceaItaly
Energy: ChemicalKendra ZhangJerichoNew York
Energy: PhysicalCamille MilesNicevilleFlorida
Engineering MechanicsIvo ZellHessenGermany
Environmental EngineeringPrashaant RanganathanJamshedpurIndia
Materials ScienceNicky WojtaniaPlanoTexas
MathematicsKarthik YegneshLansdalePennsylvania
MicrobiologyRahul SubramaniamCos CobConnecticut
Physics and AstronomyAmber YangWindermereFlorida
Plant SciencesIsabella BowlandBoulderColorado
Robotics and Intelligent MachinesTassilo SchwarzSeeonGermany
Systems SoftwareMichael LeeManhassetNew York
Translational Medical ScienceJeremiah PateOro ValleyArizona



Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2017 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2017 Photo Albums on Facebook and Flickr

2017 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2017; please contact us with information.

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News for Students


Eureka! Lab