ISEF Awards | Student Science

Support Strong Science

Be a champion now for the

next generation of science leaders.

ISEF Awards

Each year more than approximately 1,800 student finalists earn the right to attend the ISEF as a result of winning an ISEF-affiliated fair at a local, regional, or national level. ISEF finalists compete on average $4 million in awards and prizes and are judged on their creative ability and scientific thought, as well as the thoroughness, skill, and clarity shown in their projects. Awards at Intel ISEF 2018 included the following:

The Gordon E. Moore Award

This $75,000 top award of the ISEF is provided to the top Best in Category project.

Gordon Moore co-founded Intel Corporation in 1968, serving as president and CEO as well as Chairman of the Board before his retirement in 1997. With degrees in chemistry and physics from University of California, Berkeley (B.S.) and Caltech (Ph.D.), Moore is widely known for “Moore’s Law,” the driving pulse of the semiconductor industry. He and his wife, Betty Moore, have created the Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation and are among the world's most generous philanthropists. He is widely admired for his technical leadership and his role as one of the creators of today's Silicon Valley, as well as for his ongoing philanthropic role supporting environmental efforts and science education and research.

The Moore Award recognizes the Best of the Best among the outstanding students from around the world who participate in the Intel ISEF. The winning project is selected on the basis of outstanding and innovative research, as well as on the potential impact of the work — in the field and on the world at large.

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards

Intel and SSP will present $50,000 awards to two Best in Category projects. These finalists will be selected for their commitment to innovation in tackling challenging scientific questions, using authentic research practices, and creating solutions to the problems of tomorrow.

Intel ISEF Best of Category Awards

Best of Category Winners are provided a $5,000 scholarship. Additionally, a $1,000 grant will be given to their school and the Intel ISEF-affiliated fair they represent.

Intel ISEF Grand Awards

Grand Awards are presented in each of the 22 Intel ISEF categories, as follows:

  • 1st Award:  $3,000 cash award
  • 2nd Award: $1,500 cash award
  • 3rd Award:  $1,000 cash award
  • 4th Award:     $500 cash award
    Team projects will be judged and awarded within their scientific category. Team members will split the award equally. The number of awards distributed in each category is proportional to the number of projects entered in that category.

Intel ISEF Special Awards

Each year, organizations representing a wide variety of scientific disciplines provide awards, scholarships, internship and other prizes to hundreds of student Finalists. More information on Special Awards that will be provided at Intel ISEF can be found here.

Intel ISEF Experiential Awards

Each year, Intel provides experiential awards to introduce students to settings in which they can explore their scientific interests while also experiencing a cultural exchange. The experiential awards anticipated for 2019 are listed below:

Dudley R. Herschbach SIYSS Award

Three finalists will receive an all-expense-paid trip to attend the Stockholm International Youth Science Seminar (SIYSS), which includes attendance at the Nobel Prize ceremonies in Stockholm, Sweden. The Dudley R. Herschbach SIYSS Award is a multi-disciplinary seminar highlighting some of the most remarkable achievements by young scientists from around the world. This award is named for Dudley R. Herschbach, Harvard Professor and 1986 Nobel Laureate in chemistry. He is Emeritus Board Chair of Society for Science & the Public.

European Union Contest for Young Scientists

An all-expense-paid trip enables attendance for selected finalists at the European Union Contest for Young Scientists — located in a new city each year.

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News for Students


Eureka! Lab